“Balut & Transfers”

Hello Everyone!

Wow, July is already flying by so fast! Sister Avancena and I had a pretty fun 4th of July, except all the fireworks were blocked by huge trees, so we couldn’t see them… but we could hear and feel the power of the fireworks. Well, this week also was quite interesting. Last P-day we had a Philipino meal with a member in Sister Garate and Sataraka’s area. Everything was 100% Philipino food and it was quite delicious.. till we got to the balut. Sister Avancena wanted to make sure that everyone got a chance to eat it.  So, the disgusting challenge began, and I was the first of the other three sisters to eat it!  And let me just say that never again will I eat such a dish! Blah! But I can officially say that I have eaten Balut in America!

Next thing is transfer news! Can someone give me a drum roll……..Yes! I got transferred!… with Sister Avancena! Elders are whitewashing into our area, and we pray that they take good care of this area. So, my new companion is Sister Mason from Falls Church, Virgina. She has been out 13 months. She is awesome and fun to work with…and the best news is, I get a car! Wow, I didn’t realize how refreshing it feels to be in a car again after being on a bike all day in th3e heat.  Now I do not have to worry about helmet hair, haha! I got transferred back to Tempe Rural! Wow! I am back in my mom’s old ward that I served in during January and February with Sister Evans. We also have another ward, Ahwatukee Groves ward. I am now serving in Tempe, Phoenix (Ahwatukee), and Guadalupe all in one area! Woot! We’ve got a lot of work to do here. It is so fun to see so many familiar faces again, I have missed all of these amazing people.

So much has happened that I will never be able to tell it all. But one thing that I know is so important, is journal writing. Journal writing is so important, because it helps us see God’s hands in our life from our families, friends, trials, and triumphs. Journal writing helps me see how much I have grown and see how the Lord has been a part of every step of my life. I invite you all to take time to write in your journals on how God has affected you today, and if you do not believe in God, try writing down the things that you are thankful for throughout the day, for there you will see God’s hand in your life. God loves you all and knows your needs, and I promise that as you write down these things, you will feel His love for you and know that He is aware of everything you need.

I love you all so much, and am grateful to have you as a part of my life. Have a great week!

Love, Sister Jenna LeBaron

Face timing Michelle… we are going to miss her so much!

Both Sr. Avancena and I are getting transferred!  Elders are coming in to take over the farm and our biking area. Crazy! We are going to really miss the Partridge and Greenfield first wards! 

7-10 #12

We had a farewell Philipino dinner tonight and Sr. Avancena wanted us all to eat Balut.  Balut is a developing bird embryo (usually a duck or chicken) that is boiled and eaten from the shell. It originates and is commonly sold as street-food in the Philippines.  It was so gross! I was the first one to eat it, but my tummy did not like it very much.  Never doing that again!

7-10 #16

Here is my Wall of Love from home!  Had to take a picture of it before I take it all down for transfers !

My new companion, Sr. Mason, from Virginia. She’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

